Is this Blog Offensive?

I’ve been realizing that although I love blogging, I’m not reaching as many men as I would like.  Some male readers have commented that my posts for the men are off-putting and demand that men listen to me without offering anything that they would enjoy.

To all my female readers, I love you and you’re wonderful, but I want to develop a broader reader base.  Because I blog about feminsit issues, that may deter male readers.

So, dear readers, I pose a question to you. What can I do to make my blog more appealing to a wider audience?  I would like to recruit more allies and write about a wide variety of social justice issues.

If you have any advice, let me know in the comments.

5 comments on “Is this Blog Offensive?

  1. Because I blog about feminsit issues, that may deter male readers.

    Err…there are about a zillion other websites/blogs that cater to what male readers care about. The menz getting all huffy about not catering to their needs is a sign that you’re doing it *right* and should continue down the path you have chosen.

    • cafeaulait13 says:

      True, but I want to try to reach as many allies as possible, and I blog about other issues here that require as many allies and activists as possible.

      • cafeaulait13 says:

        If it’s a matter of changing what I write about and my fundamental beliefs, than I won’t change. But writing in a slightly different tone that makes men reconsider feminism or adding more facts to my presentation aren’t necessarily changing who I am or what I believe. But it does help bring men to the cause, who like it or not, can command respect from other men in a way that we can’t by virtue of our genetalia.

  2. But it does help bring men to the cause, who like it or not, can command respect from other men in a way that we can’t by virtue of our genetalia.

    I’m thinking if someone is judging the value of my argument by what I have in my pants, respecting women really isn’t that high on their list.

    I would agree that one does catch more flies with honey than vinegar, but how helpful is catching more flies when the eventual message is “well you know the system that is working awesome for you dudes and benefiting dudes is wrong and should be abolished”.

    *broken record sound*

    It might be a little jarring no?

  3. Not offensive to me or the hubby….I do understand wanting to reach more readers then part of me says who the hell cares….

Leave a Reply

