Everyday Sexism. Are We Really Powerless?

This post talks about the Everyday Sexism Project, a website designed to list the incidents of sexism in women’s daily lives. This website helps to give you strength, to keep going, and not to give up. It helps to know that you’re not alone, dealing with ignorance and prejudice.

A Girl With Questions

Woman-power symbol (clenched fist in Venus sig...

Here’s something you might not know about me: I’m a bit of a control freak.  If ever a situation arises wherein I lack control, it tends to bother me. A lot. As a woman who has difficulty giving a hairdresser free rein over her fringe, I find it particularly hard to relinquish all power to Mr Random on the street, or Mr Banter in the office. Yet that’s what I find myself doing almost every day, when confronted with casual sexism.

As I pointed out in my last post, every woman’s experience with sexism is slightly different to the next, as are every feminist’s reasons for identifying as such. Personally, my feminist Kryptonite is the issue of casual, everyday sexism.

‘But we’ve moved on from the 50s – we’re a civilised bunch!’, I hear you say (possibly). You’d be right in thinking that sexism isn’t quite as prevalent or overt…

View original post 1,316 more words

Leave a Reply

