You Don’t Need to Move to Canada…

Obama won!  I’m breathing a sigh of relief, and crying because I’ve been so afraid of a Romney presidency for so long.

In other delightful, glorious election news,

Todd “Legitimate Rape” Akin lost his race to “unladylike” Claire McCaskill.

Defeated and no longer serving in the US House Science Committee.

Richard Mourdock, who believes that rape babies are gifts from God, also lost his race.

Take this loss as a gift from God, Mr. Mourdock. I mean, you were asking for it.

Overall, a record number of women won their races, the Republicans learned that rape is really not a viable campaign strategy, young people increased turnout, and the Republican party is starting to come to grips with the fact that they need to appeal to Hispanic voters.  Medical marijuana ballot initiatives passed in several states, as did marriage equality.  In short, many progressive initiatives passed in the ballots, meaning that the country is becoming more liberal again.

Unfortunately, this guy, won his re-election campaign.  You can’t win them all.

For my non-US readers, thank you for letting me celebrate.  I promise back to regular blogging tomorrow.

Any other important election updates I forgot, let me know in the comments.

5 comments on “You Don’t Need to Move to Canada…

  1. LordFanny says:

    How about Bob “SOPA” Goodlatte? Yeah, he won reelection too. His opposition had Zero funding, Near Zero name recognition on election day, and Goodlatte got more than 60% of the votes in his Congressional district.

    FUK YEAH, AMURICAH!!!!

  2. I am also so relieved…probably didn’t realize it until last night as I was drinking vodka (and I’m not a drinker), logged into FB and watching the returns….the anxiety was huge! And being in the state across the river from the “legitimate rape idiot” was often a great deal to handle during the course of this campaign….but it also put me within firing range of him to make a difference! :-) Now….if I need to work on getting that Rush Limbaugh bust out of the Missouri Hall of Fame! Just plain embarrassing!

  3. lucindalines says:

    I too loved the election. My daughter won her first election on her first try. She will be in the House of Representatives in North Dakota. This may not seem like much, but in a state that can’t find enough Democrats to run, it was great to see a young woman win her seat with the highest number of votes (pick 2 or 4) on her first try. We also sent a woman to the US Senate. It was a great election. I am so glad I don’t have to leave the country. I was headed to Norway.

Leave a Reply

