Landlord and Tenant: Explaining Bodily Autonomy to Conservatives

I am the landlord and tenant of my own body.

Respect that I both own and inhabit my own body.  I am the landlord.  I can grant access to the building.  I can change the wallpaper, drill holes in the wall.  I maintain the well-being of the building.

Simultaneously, I am the tenant of my own body.  I inhabit the physical space, but I am not always mentally present.  Sometimes, landlord and tenant disagree.  The landlord occasionally wants to let guests in, but the apartment is my own space.  As the tenant, I control access to my own space.  Somedays, I want guests, and I open up my home to friends.  Other times, I wish to be left alone, or do not wish certain people to enter.  That is my prerogative.  As landlord, I can physically grant them access, but as tenant, I have the final say in who gets to enter.
I am the landlord and tenant of my own body.  Respect that.

3 comments on “Landlord and Tenant: Explaining Bodily Autonomy to Conservatives

  1. This is a really great way of explaining it.

  2. Sara says:

    Beautiful analogy.

  3. mlapke411 says:

    Reblogged this on Small Girl, Big City and commented:
    This is a lovely way of describing this

Leave a Reply

